VOTE! VOTE! VOTE! Here’s Our Full Endorsement List


GAINESVILLE – The Florida LGBTA Democratic Caucus, representing the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community to the Florida Democratic Party, is releasing its final list of endorsements for the 2018 general election. Our endorsed candidates are committed to supporting and fighting for equality for Florida’s LGBT residents. The Caucus has also taken positions on the Constitutional Amendments on the ballot.

“The momentum is on our side, the Blue Wave is real, and we’re ready to Bring It Home for the LGBT community and all Floridians,” said Terry Fleming, president of the Florida LGBTA Democratic Caucus. “After two years of Donald Trump, eight years of Rick Scott, and 20 years of Republican rule in Tallahassee, voters want change that works for them, and not just the top one percent. Our endorsed candidates will do just that.”
Caucus members voted to support endorsed candidates and amendments during a series of membership meetings throughout the primary and general election process.

As a reminder, vote by mail ballots are already arriving, and the last day to register to vote is Tuesday, October 9.

Following are our endorsed candidates for statewide and federal offices, the Florida Legislature, and constitutional amendments.

US Senator Bill Nelson
CD-1: Dr. Jennifer Zimmerman 
CD-3: Yvonne Hayes Hinson
CD-4: George “Ges” Selmont
CD-5: Rep. Al Lawson
CD-6: Nancy Soderberg 
CD-7: Rep. Stephanie Murphy 
CD-8: Sanjay Patel 
CD-9: Rep. Darren Soto 
CD-10: Rep. Val Demmings
CD-11: Dana Cottrell
CD-12: Chris Hunter
CD-13: Rep. Charlie Crist 
CD-14: Rep. Kathy Castor
CD-15: Kristen Carlson
CD-16: David Shapiro 
CD-18: Lauren Baer 
CD-19: David Holden
CD-20: Rep. Alcee Hastings
CD-21: Rep. Lois Frankel
CD-22: Rep. Ted Deutch 
CD-23: Rep. Debbie Wasserman-Schultz
CD-26: Debbie Mucarsel-Powell
CD-27: Donna Shalala


Governor & Cabinet
Governor: Andrew Gillum
Attorney General: Sean Shaw 
CFO: State Senator Jeremy Ring
Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services: Nikki Fried

State Legislature
Senate District 8: Kayser Enneking
Senate District 16: Amanda Murphy
Senate District 18:  Janet Cruz
Senate District 20: Kathy Lewis
Senate District 22: Bob Doyel
Senate District 26: Catherine Price
Senate District 34: Gary Farmer House District 4: Rebecca Koelzer
House District 21: Jason Haesler
House District 28: Lee Mangold
House District 37: Tammy Garcia
House District 42: Barbara Cady
House District 47: Anna Eskamani
House District 49: Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith
House District 55: Audrey Asiuto
House District 59: Adam Hattersley
House District 60: Debra Bellanti
House District 61:  Dianne “Ms Dee” Hart
House District 63: Fentrice Driskell
House District 66: Alex Heeren
House District 69: Jennifer Webb
House District 71: Tracy Pratt
House District 72: Margaret Good
House District 76: David Bogner
House District 78: Parisima Taeb
House District 89: James Bonfiglio
House District 93: Emma Collum
House District 97: Jared Moscowitz
House District 98: Michael Gottleib
House District 103: Cindy Polo
House District 105: Javier Estevez
House District 106: Sara McFadden
House District 115: Dr Jeffrey Solomon
House District 118: Robert Asencio

The Caucus SUPPORTS:
Amendment 3: Requires voter approval of casino gambling

Amendment 4: Restores voting right for felons who have served their time

Amendment 9: Bans offshore oil and gas drilling and vaping in enclosed indoor workplaces

Amendment 13: Prohibits betting on dog races

The Caucus OPPOSES:
Amendment 1: Grants an additional $25,000 homestead exemption for homes worth $125,000 or more

Amendment 2: Makes permanent what currently is a temporary cap of 10 percent on annual property value increases for vacation homes, apartments and commercial property, effectively limiting increases on tax bills. (2nd homes and commercial) property assessment increases permanent

Amendment 5: Requires 2/3 vote of legislature to impose or increase tax or fee instead of a simple majority

Amendment 6: Adds a Marsy’s Law (victims’ rights) to state constitution, increases judicial retirement age; prohibits judges from deferring to administrative agencies to interpret law

Amendment 7: Requires death benefits for first responders and military members, a supermajority vote for college fees, and adds state college system structure to constitution

Amendment 11: Repeals some obsolete language; repeals a provision saying that changes to a criminal statute are not retroactive

The Caucus took NO POSITION on:
Amendment 10: Prohibits counties from abolishing certain local offices, changes start date of legislative sessions, and adds an executive office and executive department to constitution

Amendment 12: Prohibits public officials from lobbying for compensation while in office and 6 years thereafter.